Hashtags Are Your Friends #Twitter #hashtag

I’ve found myself retweeting some tweets lately that are interesting but might not get as much attention as they deserve. I always seem to have to add a comment to them in order to assure they’re getting viewed. You see, in any given instance, even a relatively low-profile account such as mine has a better chance of getting noticed than a high-profile account if I effectively use hashtags. People searching for keywords will find my tweet in their search result. For an example, see my title on this post. My posts automatically are shared to Twitter, and sometimes someone will share my page to Twitter. Either way, the hashtags automatically get included in those tweets, again raising my profile.

If you have no idea what hashtags are or how to use them, head over to the Twitter Help Center’s page on the subject. The only issue I take with their advice is that tweeting with more than two hashtags isn’t usually spamming. If your post covers more than two areas of interest, you’re going to want to use more than two hashtags. Just stick them at the end of the tweet’s title so that they don’t obscure the title, even repeating a word as long as you have the space to do so. Again, look at the title to this post as an example. I could have written, “#Hashtags Are Your Friends #Twitter,” but chose not to include the # sign in the title itself. It’s easier for people to read my title, yet I can still include the hashtag.

YMMV.

Follow me on Twitter @PropertyAtty

Rob Bodine is a Virginia attorney focusing his practice on real estate and intellectual property law. He’s currently Virginia counsel with First Class Title, Inc., a Maryland title insurance and settlement company. Rob is also a licensed title insurance agent in Florida, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

Leave a comment

Filed under Criminal Law, Philosophy, Traffic Offenses

Leave a Reply

